Chat with us, powered by LiveChat The companies that you need to review for this assignment are: 1) Kroger 2) Walmart You can find the 10K reports that you need for the companies attached below ? 10K Reports. The c | EssayAbode

The companies that you need to review for this assignment are: 1) Kroger 2) Walmart You can find the 10K reports that you need for the companies attached below ? 10K Reports. The c

 

The companies that you need to review for this assignment are:

1) Kroger

2) Walmart

You can find the 10K reports that you need for the companies attached below – 10K Reports. The company sites for the proxies and 10Q reports are listed below:

1. Kroger: http://ir.kroger.com/sec-filings

2. Walmart:  https://stock.walmart.com/investors/financial-information/sec-filings/

Below are the requirements for the assignment. You need to answer the following questions for each company separately:

1) Review the 10-K reports of the companies that you have been assigned. In the first few pages, there is usually a table of contents.  What kind of information is included in the 10-K reports of your companies? 

2) Based on item 1of your 10-K reports provide a brief overview of the business of your companies. 

3) For each company, go to the financial statements section of the 10-K reports (item 8). What type of statements do we have in this case (i.e. internally prepared, compilation, review or audit)? If it is an audit, what type of opinion do we have? The audit opinion can be found either in the beginning or at the end of the financial section.

4) Look at the actual financial statements of each company.  What is the first statement?  What is its purpose?  How many years of data are presented there? What period does it cover?

5) What is the second statement?  What is its purpose?  How many years of data are presented there? What are the dates?

UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549 ___________________________________________

FORM 10-K ___________________________________________

☒ Annual report pursuant to section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

For the fiscal year ended January 31, 2021, or

☐ Transition report pursuant to section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Commission file number 001-06991. ___________________________________________

WALMART INC. (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

___________________________________________

DE 71-0415188 (State or other jurisdiction of incorporation or organization)

(IRS Employer Identification No.)

702 S.W. 8th Street 72716Bentonville, AR

(Address of principal executive offices) (Zip Code)

Registrant's telephone number, including area code: (479) 273-4000

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:

Title of each class Trading Symbol(s) Name of each exchange on which registered Common Stock, par value $0.10 per share WMT NYSE

1.900% Notes Due 2022 WMT22 NYSE 2.550% Notes Due 2026 WMT26 NYSE

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(g) of the Act: None ___________________________________________

Indicate by check mark if the registrant is a well-known seasoned issuer, as defined in Rule 405 of the Securities Act. Yes ý No ¨

Indicate by check mark if the registrant is not required to file reports pursuant to Section 13 or Section 15(d) of the Exchange Act. Yes ¨ No ý

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for at least the past 90 days. Yes ý No ¨

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant has submitted electronically every Interactive Data File required to be submitted pursuant to Rule 405 of Regulation S-T (§232.405 of this chapter) during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to submit such files). Yes ý No ¨

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a large accelerated filer, an accelerated filer, a non-accelerated filer, a smaller reporting company or an emerging growth company. See the definitions of "large accelerated filer," "accelerated filer," "smaller reporting company" and "emerging growth company" in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act.

Large Accelerated Filer ☒ Accelerated Filer ☐☐

Non-Accelerated Filer ☐☐ Smaller Reporting Company ☐☐

Emerging Growth Company ☐

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act. ☐

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant has filed a report on and attestation to its management’s assessment of the effectiveness of its internal control over financial reporting under Section 404(b) of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act (15 U.S.C. 7262(b)) by the registered public accounting firm that prepared or issued its audit report. ☒☒

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a shell company (as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act). Yes ☐ No ☒☒

As of July 31, 2020, the aggregate market value of the voting common stock of the registrant held by non-affiliates of the registrant, based on the closing sale price of those shares on the New York Stock Exchange reported on July 31, 2020, was $182,886,052,366. For the purposes of this disclosure only, the registrant has assumed that its directors, executive officers (as defined in Rule 3b-7 under the Exchange Act) and the beneficial owners of 5% or more of the registrant's outstanding common stock are the affiliates of the registrant.

The registrant had 2,817,071,695 shares of common stock outstanding as of March 17, 2021.

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

Document Parts Into Which Incorporated Portions of the registrant's Proxy Statement for the Annual Meeting of Shareholders to be held June 2, 2021 (the "Proxy Statement")

Part III

Walmart Inc. Form 10-K

For the Fiscal Year Ended January 31, 2021

Table of Contents

Page Part I Item 1 Business 6 Item 1A Risk Factors 14 Item 1B Unresolved Staff Comments 25 Item 2 Properties 26 Item 3 Legal Proceedings 28 Item 4 Mine Safety Disclosures 30

Part II Item 5 Market for Registrant's Common Equity, Related Stockholder Matters and Issuer Purchases of Equity Securities 31 Item 6 Selected Financial Data 32 Item 7 Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations 33 Item 7A Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About Market Risk 48 Item 8 Financial Statements and Supplementary Data 50 Item 9 Changes in and Disagreements with Accountants on Accounting and Financial Disclosure 81 Item 9A Controls and Procedures 81 Item 9B Other Information 81

Part III Item 10 Directors, Executive Officers and Corporate Governance 82 Item 11 Executive Compensation 82 Item 12 Security Ownership of Certain Beneficial Owners and Management and Related Stockholder Matters 82 Item 13 Certain Relationships and Related Transactions, and Director Independence 82 Item 14 Principal Accounting Fees and Services 82

Part IV Item 15 Exhibits, Financial Statement Schedules 83 Item 16 Form 10-K Summary 85

Signatures 86

WALMART INC.

ANNUAL REPORT ON FORM 10-K FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED JANUARY 31, 2021

All references in this Annual Report on Form 10-K, the information incorporated into this Annual Report on Form 10-K by reference to information in the Proxy Statement of Walmart Inc. for its Annual Shareholders' Meeting to be held on June 2, 2021 and in the exhibits to this Annual Report on Form 10-K to "Walmart Inc.," "Walmart," "the Company," "our Company," "we," "us" and "our" are to the Delaware corporation named "Walmart Inc." and, except where expressly noted otherwise or the context otherwise requires, that corporation's consolidated subsidiaries.

PART I Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements This Annual Report on Form 10-K and other reports, statements, and information that Walmart Inc. (which individually or together with its subsidiaries, as the context otherwise requires, is referred to as "we," "Walmart" or the "Company") has filed with or furnished to the Securities and Exchange Commission ("SEC") or may file with or furnish to the SEC in the future, and prior or future public announcements and presentations that we or our management have made or may make, include or may include, or incorporate or may incorporate by reference, statements that may be deemed to be "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Act"), that are intended to enjoy the protection of the safe harbor for forward-looking statements provided by the Act as well as protections afforded by other federal securities laws.

Nature of Forward-Looking Statements Such forward-looking statements are not statements of historical facts, but instead express our estimates or expectations for our consolidated, or one of our segment's, economic performance or results of operations for future periods or as of future dates or events or developments that may occur in the future or discuss our plans, objectives or goals. These forward-looking statements may relate to:

• the growth of our business or change in our competitive position in the future or in or over particular periods; • the amount, number, growth, increase, reduction or decrease in or over certain periods, of or in certain financial items or measures or operating measures,

including our earnings per share, net sales, comparable store and club sales, our Walmart U.S. operating segment's eCommerce sales, liabilities, expenses of certain categories, expense leverage, returns, capital and operating investments or expenditures of particular types and new store openings;

• investments and capital expenditures we will make and how certain of those investments and capital expenditures are expected to be financed; • our increasing investments in eCommerce, technology, supply chain, store remodels and other omni-channel customer initiatives, such as same day

pickup and delivery; • our workforce strategy; • volatility in currency exchange rates affecting our or one of our segments' results of operations; • the Company continuing to provide returns to shareholders through share repurchases and dividends, the use of share repurchase authorization over a

certain period or the source of funding of a certain portion of our share repurchases; • our sources of liquidity, including our cash, continuing to be adequate or sufficient to fund our operations, finance our global investment and expansion

activities, pay dividends and fund share repurchases; • cash flows from operations, our current cash position and access to capital markets will continue to be sufficient to meet our anticipated operating cash

needs; • the reclassification of amounts related to our derivatives; • our effective tax rate for certain periods and the realization of certain net deferred tax assets and the effects of resolutions of tax-related matters; • the effect of adverse decisions in, or settlement of, litigation or other proceedings or investigations to which we are subject; • the effect on the Company's results of operations or financial position of the Company's adoption of certain new, or amendments to existing, accounting

standards; or • our commitments, intentions, plans or goals related to the sustainability of our environment and supply chains, the promotion of economic opportunity or

other societal initiatives. Our forward-looking statements may also include statements of our strategies, plans and objectives for our operations, including areas of future focus in our operations, and the assumptions underlying any of the forward-looking statements we make. The forward-looking statements we make can typically be identified by the use therein of words and phrases such as "aim," "anticipate," "believe," "could be," "could increase," "could occur," "could result," "continue," "estimate," "expansion," "expect," "expectation," "expected to be," "focus," "forecast," "goal," "grow," "guidance," "intend," "invest," "is expected,"

4

"may continue," "may fluctuate," "may grow," "may impact," "may result," "objective," "plan," "priority," "project," "strategy," "to be," "we'll," "we will," "will add," "will allow," "will be," "will benefit," "will change," "will come in at," "will continue," "will decrease," "will grow," "will have," "will impact," "will include," "will increase," "will open," "will remain," "will result," "will stay," "will strengthen," "would be," "would decrease" and "would increase," variations of such words or phrases, other phrases commencing with the word "will" or similar words and phrases denoting anticipated or expected occurrences or results. The forward-looking statements that we make or that are made by others on our behalf are based on our knowledge of our business and our operating environment and assumptions that we believe to be or will believe to be reasonable when such forward-looking statements were or are made. As a consequence of the factors described above, the other risks, uncertainties and factors we disclose below and in the other reports as mentioned above, other risks not known to us at this time, changes in facts, assumptions not being realized or other circumstances, our actual results may differ materially from those discussed in or implied or contemplated by our forward-looking statements. Consequently, this cautionary statement qualifies all forward-looking statements we make or that are made on our behalf, including those made herein and incorporated by reference herein. We cannot assure you that the results or developments expected or anticipated by us will be realized or, even if substantially realized, that those results or developments will result in the expected consequences for us or affect us, our business, our operations or our operating results in the manner or to the extent we expect. We caution readers not to place undue reliance on such forward-looking statements, which speak only as of their dates. We undertake no obligation to revise or update any of the forward-looking statements to reflect subsequent events or circumstances except to the extent required by applicable law.

5

ITEM 1. BUSINESS

General Walmart Inc. ("Walmart," the "Company" or "we") helps people around the world save money and live better – anytime and anywhere – by providing the opportunity to shop in retail stores and through eCommerce. Through innovation, we strive to continuously improve a customer-centric experience that seamlessly integrates our eCommerce and retail stores in an omni-channel offering that saves time for our customers. Each week, we serve over 240 million customers who visit approximately 11,400 stores and numerous eCommerce websites under 54 banners in 26 countries. Our strategy is to make every day easier for busy families, operate with discipline, sharpen our culture and become digital, and make trust a competitive advantage. Making life easier for busy families includes our commitment to price leadership, which has been and will remain a cornerstone of our business, as well as increasing convenience to save our customers time. By leading on price, we earn the trust of our customers every day by providing a broad assortment of quality merchandise and services at everyday low prices ("EDLP"). EDLP is our pricing philosophy under which we price items at a low price every day so our customers trust that our prices will not change under frequent promotional activity. Everyday low cost ("EDLC") is our commitment to control expenses so our cost savings can be passed along to our customers. Our operations comprise three reportable segments: Walmart U.S., Walmart International and Sam's Club. Our fiscal year ends on January 31 for our United States ("U.S.") and Canadian operations. We consolidate all other operations generally using a one-month lag and on a calendar year basis. Our discussion is as of and for the fiscal years ended January 31, 2021 ("fiscal 2021"), January 31, 2020 ("fiscal 2020") and January 31, 2019 ("fiscal 2019"). During fiscal 2021, we generated total revenues of $559.2 billion, which was primarily comprised of net sales of $555.2 billion. We maintain our principal offices in Bentonville, Arkansas. Our common stock trades on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol "WMT."

The Development of Our Company

The businesses conducted by our founders began in 1945 when Sam M. Walton opened a franchise Ben Franklin variety store in Newport, Arkansas. In 1946, his brother, James L. Walton, opened a similar store in Versailles, Missouri. Until 1962, our founders' business was devoted entirely to the operation of variety stores. In 1983, we opened our first Sam's Club, and in 1988, we opened our first supercenter. In 1998, we opened our first Walmart Neighborhood Market. In 1991, we began our first international initiative when we entered into a joint venture in Mexico and, as of January 31, 2021, our Walmart International segment conducted business in 25 countries. In 2000, we began our first eCommerce initiative by creating both walmart.com and samsclub.com. Since then, our eCommerce presence has continued to grow. In 2007, leveraging our physical stores, walmart.com launched its Site to Store service, enabling customers to make a purchase online and pick up merchandise in stores. To date, we now have approximately 7,300 pickup and 5,200 delivery locations globally. In recent years, we have heavily invested in omni-channel and eCommerce innovation, as well as made several eCommerce acquisitions to better serve our customers. These investments have enabled us to leverage technology, talent and expertise, incubate digitally-native brands, and expand our assortment and service offerings in stores and on walmart.com. We have also continued to enhance our eCommerce initiatives internationally, such as with our acquisition of a majority stake of Flipkart Private Limited ("Flipkart"), which is our ecosystem in India that includes eCommerce platforms of Flipkart and Myntra as well as PhonePe, a digital transaction platform. In fiscal 2021, we launched Walmart+ in the U.S., a new membership offering with omni-channel shopping benefits that currently include unlimited free shipping on eligible items with no order minimum, unlimited delivery from store, fuel discounts, and mobile scan & go for a streamlined in-store shopping experience. We are enhancing our ecosystem with our omni-channel capabilities, stores, services, eCommerce sites and supply chain combined with our more than 2.3 million associates as of January 31, 2021 to better serve our customers. Together, we believe these elements produce a flywheel effect which creates customer relationships where customers view Walmart as their primary destination. During fiscal 2021, the world has been, and continues to be, impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. While we have incurred incremental costs associated with operating during a global health crisis, the COVID-19 pandemic has also accelerated our business growth and eCommerce expansion. We have continued to invest in our omni-channel offering which resonates with customers around the world who are increasingly seeking convenience.

6

Information About Our Segments We are engaged in global operations of retail, wholesale and other units, as well as eCommerce, located throughout the U.S., Africa, Canada, Central America, Chile, China, India and Mexico. The Company also engaged in operations in the U.K. and Japan, both of which were classified as held for sale as of January 31, 2021. We also operated in Argentina and Brazil prior to the sale of Walmart Argentina in November 2020 and the majority stake of Walmart Brazil in fiscal 2019. Refer to Note 12 to our Consolidated Financial Statements for information on these divestitures. Our operations are conducted in three reportable segments: Walmart U.S., Walmart International and Sam's Club, which are further described below. Each segment contributes to the Company's operating results differently. However, each has generally maintained a consistent contribution rate to the Company's net sales and operating income in recent years other than minor changes to the contribution rate for the Walmart International segment due to fluctuations in currency exchange rates. Additional information on our operating segments and geographic and product information is contained in Note 13 to our Consolidated Financial Statements.

Walmart U.S. Segment Walmart U.S. is our largest segment and operates in the U.S., including in all 50 states, Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico. Walmart U.S. is a mass merchandiser of consumer products, operating under the "Walmart" and "Walmart Neighborhood Market" brands, as well as walmart.com and other eCommerce brands. Walmart U.S. had net sales of $370.0 billion for fiscal 2021, representing 67% of our fiscal 2021 consolidated net sales, and had net sales of $341.0 billion and $331.7 billion for fiscal 2020 and 2019, respectively. Of our three segments, Walmart U.S. has historically had the highest gross profit as a percentage of net sales ("gross profit rate"). In addition, Walmart U.S. has historically contributed the greatest amount to the Company's net sales and operating income.

Omni-channel. Walmart U.S. provides an omni-channel experience to customers, integrating retail stores and eCommerce, through services such as pickup and delivery, ship-from-store, and digital pharmacy fulfillment options. As of January 31, 2021, we had approximately 3,750 pickup locations and 3,000 delivery locations. Our Walmart+ membership incorporates several service offerings which provide enhanced omni-channel shopping experiences and benefits for members. We have several eCommerce websites, the largest of which is walmart.com. We define eCommerce sales as sales initiated by customers digitally and fulfilled by a number of methods including our dedicated eCommerce fulfillment centers and leveraging our stores. The following table provides the approximate size of our retail stores as of January 31, 2021:

Minimum Square Feet

Maximum Square Feet Average Square Feet

Supercenters (general merchandise and grocery) 69,000 260,000 178,000 Discount stores (general merchandise and limited grocery) 30,000 221,000 106,000 Neighborhood markets (grocery) 28,000 65,000 42,000

(1) Excludes other small formats.

Merchandise. Walmart U.S. does business in three strategic merchandise units, listed below: • Grocery consists of a full line of grocery items, including dry grocery, snacks, dairy, meat, produce, deli & bakery, frozen foods, alcoholic and

nonalcoholic beverages, as well as consumables such as health and beauty aids, pet supplies, household chemicals, paper goods and baby products; • General merchandise includes:

◦ Entertainment (e.g., electronics, toys, seasonal merchandise, wireless, video games, movies, music and books); ◦ Hardlines (e.g., automotive, hardware and paint, sporting goods, outdoor living and stationery); ◦ Apparel (e.g., apparel for men, women, girls, boys and infants, as well as shoes, jewelry and accessories); and ◦ Home (e.g., housewares and small appliances, bed & bath, furniture and home organization, home furnishings, home decor, fabrics and crafts).

• Health and wellness includes pharmacy, over-the-counter drugs and other medical products, optical services and clinical services.

Walmart U.S. recently launched Walmart+, a membership offering providing omni-channel shopping benefits such as unlimited free shipping on eligible items with no order minimums, as well as delivery and other benefits which help customers save more time and money. Walmart U.S. also offers an in-house advertising offering via Walmart Connect, supply chain and fulfillment capabilities to online marketplace sellers via Walmart Fulfillment Services, as well as quality, affordable, and accessible healthcare via Walmart Health. Additional service offerings include fuel and financial services and related products, such as money orders, prepaid cards, money (wire) transfers, check cashing and bill payment. Combined, these offerings did not represent a significant portion of annual segment revenues. Brand name merchandise represents a significant portion of the merchandise sold in Walmart U.S. We also market lines of merchandise under our private-label brands, including brands such as: "Allswell," "Athletic Works," "Bonobos," "Eloquii,"

(1)

7

"Equate," "Freshness Guaranteed," "George," "Great Value," "Holiday Time," "Mainstays," "Marketside," "No Boundaries," "Onn," "Ozark Trail," "Parent's Choice," "Sam's Choice," "Scoop," "Spring Valley," "SwissTech," "Time and Tru" and "Wonder Nation." The Company also markets lines of merchandise under licensed brands, some of which include: "Better Homes & Gardens," "Farberware," "Pioneer Woman" and "Russell."

Periodically, revisions are made to the categorization of the components comprising our strategic merchandise units. When revisions are made, the previous periods' presentation is adjusted to maintain comparability.

Operations. Historically, many supercenters, discount stores and neighborhood markets were generally open 24 hours each day. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, we reduced store hours to allow for additional cleaning and sanitizing but expanded store hours slightly toward the end of fiscal 2021. Consistent with its strategy, Walmart U.S. continues to develop technology tools and services that help better serve customers and help stores operate more efficiently, such as pickup and delivery, Walmart+, ship-from-store and other initiatives which provide convenient and seamless omni-channel shopping experiences.

Seasonal Aspects of Operations. Walmart U.S.'s business is seasonal to a certain extent due to calendar events and national and religious holidays, as well as different weather patterns. Historically, its highest sales volume and segment operating income have occurred in the fiscal quarter ending January 31. However, the COVID-19 pandemic may have an impact on consumer behaviors that could result in temporary changes in the seasonal fluctuations of our business.

Competition. Walmart U.S. competes with omni-channel retailers operating discount, department, retail and wholesale grocers, drug, dollar, variety and specialty stores, supermarkets, hypermarkets and supercenter-type stores, as well as eCommerce retailers. Our ability to develop and operate units at the right locations and to deliver a customer-centric omni-channel experience largely determines our competitive position within the retail industry. We employ many programs designed to meet competitive pressures within our industry. These programs include the following:

• EDLP: our pricing philosophy under which we price items at everyday low prices so our customers trust that our prices will not change under frequent promotional activity;

• EDLC: everyday low cost is our commitment to control expenses so our cost savings can be passed along to our customers; and • Omni-channel offerings such as pickup and delivery and our new Walmart+ membership offering, all of which enhance convenience and seek to serve

customers in the ways they want to be served.

Distribution. For fiscal 2021, the majority of Walmart U.S.'s purchases of store merchandise were shipped through our 156 distribution facilities, which are located strategically throughout the U.S. The remaining store merchandise we purchased was shipped directly from suppliers. General merchandise and dry grocery merchandise is transported primarily through the segment's private truck fleet; however, we contract with common carriers to transport the majority of our perishable grocery merchandise. We ship merchandise purchased by customers on our eCommerce platforms by a number of methods from multiple locations including from our 32 dedicated eCommerce fulfillment centers, as well as leveraging our ability to ship directly from approximately 3,000 stores.

Walmart International Segment Walmart International is our second largest segment and operated in 25 countries outside of the U.S as of January 31, 2021. Walmart International operated through our wholly-owned subsidiaries in Canada, Chile, and China, as well as our businesses classified as held for sale in Japan and the United Kingdom as of January 31, 2021. Walmart International also operates through our majority-owned subsidiaries in Africa (which includes Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia), Central America (which includes Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua), India and Mexico. Walmart International previously operated in Argentina and Brazil prior to the sale of Walmart Argentina in fiscal 2021 and the majority stake of Walmart Brazil in fiscal 2019. Refer to Note 12 for discussion of recent divestitures. Walmart International includes numerous formats divided into three major categories: retail, wholesale and other. These categories consist of many formats, including: supercenters, supermarkets, hypermarkets, warehouse clubs (including Sam's Clubs) and cash & carry, as well as eCommerce through walmart.com.mx, walmart.ca, flipkart.com and other sites. Walmart International had net sales of $121.4 billion for fiscal 2021, representing 22% of our fiscal 2021 consolidated net sales, and had net sales of $120.1 billion and $120.8 billion for fiscal 2020 and 2019, respectively. The segment's net sales were negatively impacted by currency exchange rate fluctuations for all years presented. The gross profit rate is lower than that of Walmart U.S. primarily because of its merchandise mix.

8